Happy 100th Blog Post!

This is my one-hundredth post! Since WordPress sent me a message wishing me a happy one-year anniversary a couple of weeks ago, that means that I’ve posted something new about every four days this year. One of the reasons I started this blog was to get myself writing again, and I’ve succeeded in at least a small way.

DSC00317I’ve written about 70 book reviews, some of them combined with other articles or series reviews. Be glad that I don’t review every book I read! Since a couple of authors have found my blog and read my reviews of their books, I tend to write only about books that I do like and would recommend to others. Authors have feelings, too. The reviews have covered new children’s and teen books (which I select and purchase for the library system where I work), adult novels, adult nonfiction, cookbooks, and biographies. One project I’d like to get to in the next year would be writing about my favorite nonfiction authors—writers I’m very familiar with from reading many of their books over the years. Narrative nonfiction is underrated, in my opinion, and I’d like to bring them to my readers. Like most librarians, I also have a list of major titles or authors that I’ve missed and would like to catch up on. I’ll bring those to you, as well.

Other frequent categories have been cooking, cookbooks, diabetes, and weight loss. I have had some success this past year, and I’ve lost 25 or 30 pounds. I keep losing and regaining the last 5 pounds. That brings my total since my diabetes diagnosis to 65 or 70 pounds. ImageSo I did keep 40 pounds off for five years, and I’ve kept this last bit off for six months or so. My diabetes is being reversed, mostly from following a low-carb diet for six years, and I’ve been able to stay off medication. I am still not good at exercising regularly, though. Having the treadmill break down knocked me completely off course for months, and now that it’s fixed, I’m not too successful with rebuilding that habit.

That’s the eating and reading of eatreadsleep.com, but I don’t think I’ve ever written about sleeping! Well, I am writing this at 1:30 AM, so maybe that counts. Usually, I sleep quite well, so there’s nothing to report.

2013-07-18 19.57.54On the other hand, I have written loads of other articles on everything from ridiculous commercials to dreadful Christmas decorations. They’ve been as silly as my neighbor’s freezer fire pit and as serious as my mother’s long illness. We’ve talked about creativity, music, Monty Python, vampires, squirrels, handbags, and The Big Bang Theory. My garden is doing much better than it was in the early spring, and we are covered in tomatoes. Crows are eating them this year, but David has squirrel-proofed the strawberries.  Here he is showing off the climbing squash. I covered both the Democratic and Republican National Conventions and the Children’s Media Awards. Wilbur, our robot, is still keeping our floors cleaner than they’ve ever been before. You know that I’m eager for the return of Elementary (September 26th!), and that I will continue to bring you all the latest concerning Southern culture. I keep thinking that I’ll write very serious pieces about important topics, but I can’t seem to stop laughing all the time.

Keep on reading, and please share with your friends! I enjoy hearing from you, so feel free to comment. If you would like an opinion on a particular book or author— which is the type of question that I get in person— please message me on Facebook. Thank you so much, and here’s to the next 100 posts!

_________________

This post was originally published on www.EatReadSleep.com on 8-8-13.

Leave a Reply

